Humbug

thanksgiving-turkey.pngIn September, when my kids BEGGED to go purchase their Halloween costumes, I wasn’t feeling it.

In October, when it was time to decorate for Halloween/Fall, I wasn’t feeling it.

Even ON Halloween, while I was out trick-or-treating with the kids, I wished I could be doing something else. I love that my kids had a great evening. That’s why I went along with them. But, truly… I wasn’t feeling it.

I’m not feeling any Holiday Spirit. AT. ALL.

My friend texted me to discuss our Thanksgiving plans, and I started crying. I was overwhelmed in October with the thought of preparing for Thanksgiving. I’m still avoiding thinking about it as long as I can. My husband will probably have to pick up the slack and do any of the baking that has to be done.

I’m not trying to avoid it. I am actively trying to get the Holiday Spirit. I went to browse in my quaint downtown shops that are already decorated for Christmas in the hope that smelling the Christmasy smells and seeing the lights and the tinsel would chip away at my “humbug” feeling. Nope… Didn’t work.

The holidays just seem exhausting and overwhelming this year. I wish I could just skip them all. But when you have kids you can’t. You have to put forth the effort. I don’t want them to have the memory of Mom’s Humbug Holidays. So, I’ll push forward and fake it the best I can. I’ll attend all the gatherings, go to all the activities, and EVEN decorate (a bit). Just because I am feeling like a humbug, doesn’t mean it has to be a humbug holiday season for all.

Now, pass the egg nog.

 

Leave a comment